As guidance is updated and new programs are created during this pandemic, we encourage you to visit our dedicated coronavirus page on our website, which includes up-to-date resources from across federal, state, and local governments. Also, check out our updated FAQ guide, which you can find here.
Direct Cash Rebate Updates
The recently passed coronavirus relief legislation, the CARES Act, includes direct cash rebates for millions of Americans. People who filed taxes in 2019 or 2018 and provided direct deposit information to the IRS may have already received their payments. The Treasury Department has provided additional guidance and resources to help more Americans easily access these relief funds. Details on how and when individuals can receive payments are below.
- Rebates began being deposited into taxpayer bank accounts last week.
- If you do not have direct deposit information on file with the IRS and would like to provide that information to receive your rebate more quickly, please visit the IRS website here, click Get My Payment, and enter your information to receive your rebate.
- Social Security and Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) recipients do not need to do anything – the IRS already has your information on file and will process your rebates automatically.
- If you do not file taxes because your adjusted gross income is under $12,000 for an individual or $24,000 for married couples, are a Supplemental Security Insurance (SSI) recipient with dependent children 17 and under, or you weren’t required to file a 2019 or 2018 tax return for other reasons, visit the IRS website here, click Non-Filers: Enter Payment Info Here, and enter your information to receive your rebate.
- Paper checks will start to be mailed to taxpayers without direct deposit the week of May 4th, but could take up to several months to reach individual households.
The State of California is working closely with federal and local public health officials and private industry to respond as quickly and effectively as possible to this virus. Some of the most recent efforts the state is taking to protect our communities, include:
- Expanding the hours of the Employment Development Department (EDD) to 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 7 days a week to help Californians speed up access to unemployment benefits;
- Working to get the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program, which provides coronavirus-related unemployment benefits to self-employed Californians, up and running by the end of April;
- Developing a roadmap for easing the stay-at-home order while maintaining social distancing;
- Investing $40.6 million to build supports for at-risk children throughout the state; and
- Translating the state coronavirus resources website, covid19.ca.gov, into additional languages (it is currently available in English and Spanish).
As a reminder, to help protect yourself and the community, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that people take the following steps:
- Avoid contact with anyone who is sick;
- Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue and immediately throw away the tissue;
- Avoid touching your eyes, face, nose, and mouth;
- Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces;
- Stay home when you are sick except to get medical care;
- If you are working at or visiting an essential business, seeking medical attention, or riding public transit, Contra Costa County now requires you to wear a cloth mask that snuggly covers your mouth and nose; and
- Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.